Writing in his weekly column in The Sun newspaper, Top Gear presenter Jeremy Clarkson has said that the BBC have issued him with his ‘final warning’, and will be dismissed by the broadcaster if he makes one more offensive remark.

The position was confirmed this morning by Danny Cohen, Director of BBC television. When asked what position the BBC would adopt in the event that Clarkson made any further offensive remarks, Cohen said “Well, as I’ve just said, we have issued Jeremy with a final warning. If he uses any more inappropriate language, I will get him into my office and warn him that he is on a final warning, and warn him that if by warning him that he is on a final warning isn’t enough, he will be issued with another warning, only with me adopting an even more serious face than the one I am now using.”

Clarkson said of Mr Cohen’s warning “I have to give him his due. He is very fair.”

