Jeremy Clarkson has been forced into a volte face over his alleged use of the ‘N’ word. Romperredes has received a copy of the statement just issued by Clarkson:

 

“Ordinarily I don’t respond to newspaper allegations but on this occasion the BBC feel that I must make an exception. A couple of years ago I recorded an item for Top Gear in which I quote the rhyme “eeny, meeny, miny, moe.” Of course, I was well aware that in the best-known version of this rhyme there is a racist expression that I was extremely keen to ensure that the public did not know that I was seeking to avoid not using. Now, I accept that I initially said that I did not use the offensive word, but when I viewed this footage several years later, I realised that in one of the mumbled versions, if you listen very carefully, you may be able to hear me mumbling a word that I did not mean to not use but inadvertently did not mumble the word I meant to not mean to use, and obviously did not use, but did. I was trying my best to obscure the meaning I was not meaning to not use, but somehow this did not happen, and I actually did not use the word that I meant initially that I was not going to use. Please be assured I did everything in my power to not offend by using the word I did not mean to not use, but possibly used another word that I meant not to not use.

I hope this clears it up. And if it doesn’t……..you can just f**k off!

Jeremy Clarkson

 

 

